OOA at 75'

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Van Isle

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi gang! I was a participant in an incident at a local wall the other day and I am struggling to find lessons learned.

Location: A deep wall, night dive, temps 46F. Visibility was quite good >40'. The bottom is 160+ and planned depth was 100'.

The divers: a group of 3 AOW level divers. I'm new to diving, ~150 cold water dives. A has several hundred cold water dives but is new (~20 dives) to his drysuit. B is newer to diving having just over 50 dives.

The Dive: I was buddy checked by another diver. A & B say they checked each other prior to the dive. We discussed our intended profiles. I was diving 33%EAN, the other two were on air. I was not explicit in saying that I had a pretty hard (1.4PPO2) bottom of 103', but we did agree that we would not go past 100'. All divers were diving alu 80's with 3000psi fills.

The vis was uncharacteristically good, and we were all together a big group of local divers heading out. It was quite a show, but we three were definitely a dive team, separate from the other 3 teams. The dive progressed and we three hugged the 100' limit, staring waaaay down in to the inky darkness.

Diver A strayed below our 100' limit, down to about 110'. He's a really experienced diver, so although I was worried about his NDL, I was more concerned with staying closer to my PPO2 limit and the least experienced buddy.