Norcal Newbie question.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

neas

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi,

I'm new to Scuba and new to the forum. I hope this is an ok place to post this question. Thank you in advance for your opinion and expert advice.

My question:
Do most dive shops have facilities to clean rented gear?

I know most of you don't rent gear, but we rented $220 worth of gear from a NorCal shop this past weekend. We understood the gear needed to be cleaned, and we thought the dive shop would have facilities for us to clean it ourselves, since that had been our experience in the past at other shops. We were wrong. So, when we returned the gear without dunking or cleaning it and they charged us $75 - reduced to $50.

My first thought is to not rent from this shop again, this fee was a decent percentage of our rental, and there are plenty of other nearby shops where I can take my business with cleaning facilities. Am I expecting too much from my experience so far? Can I expect many dive shops to be the same way?

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

BTW: Our 2 dives in Gerstle Cove were AWESOME - those abalone are like 17 inches and the sea urchin are huge! It was really nice. The coast was blown out, but the vis on our first dive on Sunday 10/4 was an easy 12 feet. Second dive: 1 hour later, maybe 8 feet. Lots of fun.