Nitrox + AOW checkout dives

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DanBo

Reaction score
Hello to all fellow divers,

Like most divers, I got bored this past winter and signed up for nitrox class. I got that part done and am about to take my 2 required dives and was thinking of doing it through my LDS. Question is, I'm not AOW certified although I have over 80 dives under my belt, all under 60 feet (I'm a good student and follow rules quite well). The dives that my LDS are taking within the next few weeks are all in the 90 - 110 feet range. Okay, so I also signed up for AOW - heck, why not 2 birds with 1 stone. Oh by the way, they say, you'll need a drysuit....so I buy a 7mm from a buddy of mine since I'm running low in cash.

Questions that come to mind are: How's the ocean temp out of Ocean City, MD this time of year? I'd hate to do my dives in a quarry, but if I had to will dive in one but where can I do my nitrox required 2 dives? They pretty much gave me my referral form and told me that if I took my 2 required dives elsewhere, if I wanted NAUI nitrox cards to take the signed forms back to them after the dives. I prefer NAUI on this due to the instructor.

Am I over my head in doing the nitrox dives plus some specialty dives that will be credited towards my AOW? By the way, I'm pretty calm under pressure, always try to have a clear mind and am aware of my surroundings at all times.