Newly Certified and torn between Regulators for Purchase

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
:idk: I am new to diving and am getting ready to purchase my own equipment. I have been looking into Regulators and currently reside in Greece. Most everything I am looking to purchase I have to order online or pay a lot in exchange rate. I have a great dive shop here that is being very honest about prices and they are reccomending three good regulators for me. Any thoughts on the following Regulators:

Cressi Sub-Ellipse Titanium

Sherwood Brut (Used this in my certification course)

Sherwood Oasis

Any advice is welcomed. Thanks

as a good all rounder and well priced id look at aqualung legend or mares protons
for me personaly i ve always found the sherwood range hard breathers BUT this is what ive found i may be the odd one out!!
but welcome to the diving world !!
have fun!!

Unless you are diving in very cold water (ice diving, etc..), pretty much any new regulator by a major manufacturer will do the job and be safe. There is a lot to discuss and decide about BCs, computers and exposure suits, but there just isn't much variability in this area. If you buy a new regulator (or a well serviced used regulator), and take good care of it, you should be fine. That having been said, I like Atomic regulators since they don't need to be serviced as often.

i personally love my Atomic ST1 and T2 but in greece service and availabilites may be an issue! i think?
i may be wrong