Question Newbie: Worried about water temperature

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

acdc20

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello!

Newbie here with a question about water temps and staying warm. Did a discovery dive in Hawaii last summer- that's what got us hooked! It was super fun. Planning to go get certified in the Florida Keys in May. My biggest concern right now is staying warm enough in the water for how long we'll be out there. In Hawaii, we did 2 dives that were each almost an hour long (no deeper than 30 ft), and by the end of each I was definitely cold, even with wetsuit and booties. Average water temp in the Keys says 80 in May, but I'm curious about how you know what the temp will be 40-60 ft down? Will whatever wetsuit the dive shop provides be enough or I'm wondering if I should look at getting my own. Would love to hear some feedback, I feel miserable when I get cold and I don't want that to get in the way of this adventure!

You'll get a lot of opinions on temperature, but of course everyone differs on what is cold. The only way I know of to find out what temperatures MAY be at depth is to ask locally, ask re time of year, etc.