Newbie here . . .

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

olkev

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to the forum and this is my first post.

I am VERY interested in Vintage Diving. I have a late model AquaMaster that needs to be serviced and have some mouthpiece valves. I am also very interested in the Phoenix upgrade.

My basic question is this: My wife is wanting to take up SCUBA and she will get the "cram" course that is offered these days but, I'm sure if I were to show up with no BC, a double hose reg etc, I will at least get frowns if not told you can't dive with us. "How do you deal with the SCUBA Police?"

I did my diving classes in the late '80s with an "old school" instructor. We had a lot of pool time, snorkeling before we ever got to a tank, doff and don, buddy breathe, had to really learn how to use dive tables, etc. My time with diving without a BC is limited although I like the streamlined effect. It seems as if all of the equipment these days is a result of less basic dive training. What I learned in my basic class, they seem to charge for in advanced classes these days. I also like to plan my dives, not overweight, I like J-valves because it is redundant without being obtrusive, etc. Being on the high plains of West Texas, there are not many people to turn to, not to mention having to travel several miles just to do some lake diving.

What is the best way to further learn the ins and outs of this type of diving? What is safe and what isn't?

Thanks in advance!

Howdy: