New to U/W Photography

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

skinfish

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I am a novice diver and heading for the Caribbean in the spring, namely the Caymans, Roatan/Bay Islands, Cozumel, and Belize. I would like to take pictures as I dive through each county's reef's & wrecks but I do not know where to start.

I do not get the chance to dive very often and do not see much more opportunity in the next few years to dive so I am not looking to invest a lot for U/W photographic equipment. I am looking for a way to take photos that will not be totally blue w/o spending a ton of money on equipment that will get minimal usage after this trip.

I do have an Olympus C4000 Digital Zoom 4 megapixel camera but am not sure if there is a type of underwater case that can be used with this camera. If not, I need any suggestions that are out there. Do dive places rent cameras? If so, any suggestions on cameras to rent

Thank you in advance for your help,

Doug

You will probably be better off if you rent a camera system for your trip. I say system because you should either be doing macro or wide angle. Macro is great for showing the small parts of the reef and can be very easy. Wid angle photos are what shows your audience how the reef actually looks. My advice is to rent a wide angle system for a day. That would consist of a camera with wide angle lens and a separate strobe. A 20mm lens is ideal to begin with. Don't worry about film or digital- using the right tools is what matters most.