New to solo diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RumBum

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello, this is my intro post to the Solo forum. I have all of 4 solo dives under my belt. I have been self-educating and I recently bought the Solo Diving book. So, to introduce myself here with a bang, I wrote a nice long review of the book. I realize many of my opinions may be flawed since I am new to solo diving, but that's why I thought I'd throw this out here and see what you all think. :popcorn:

A review and summary of Solo Diving, Robert Von Maier (second edition)

This is the only book I could find about Solo Diving. Unfortunately, it is more of a philosophical discussion of the advantages of solo diving rather than the technicalities of it. Von Maier tentatively sets forth a few guidelines that would seem advantageous to the solo diver, but he is never forceful enough to make them more than recommendations.
Chapters one through three are a general review of why the Buddy System is flawed and we should all be self-sufficient divers. He mentions that solo divers need to be very truthful in our own self-evaluation and in regulating our solo underwater activities and not exceed our own limits. Chapter four expounds on the need for good physical fitness as a solo diver. Essentially, we should all be in good physical health, good swimmers, and capable free divers. This train of thought eventually leads to Von Maier’s “rules” of solo diving: