New soon to be diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mercness

Registered
Reaction score
Wanted to do a quick introduction, I'm Austin from Arlington, Texas. I'm a criminal justice student, and will be taking a Scuba Diving class next semester. Always had an interest in the area, and hope to maybe one day use it with my intended career as a Police Officer. Figured I might as well learn as much as I can before I get to the class! Came across this forum while researching equipment and such. Hope to gain some valuable knowledge and start enjoying what seems to be a very exciting and interesting hobby! :eyebrow:

-Austin (Mercness) Walker

Hi Austin. We have an Introductions forum, but no harm here. Enjoy the forums and click my name to send me a PM if I can help you find something here.

Thanks for your help! I must have completely missed the introductions section. Been reading up on some of the information on here, making me very very excited to get everything started.

Welcome to the board, Austin. A bit of advice about purchasing gear...
Feel free to buy the "personal gear" items (mask, snorkel, booties, fins, gloves?) that your instructor says you must buy.
I'd recommend holding off on purchasing the more expensive items -- reg setup, gauges, BCD, exposure suit, lead weight, etc.
Your college may have a student-run dive club. If so, join it. Typically college dive club members can get access to nice discounts on rentals and new gear at local dive shops.