New OW Diver Ear Issues

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

divergirl6

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi,
I'm new to both ScubaBoard and scuba diving and I just got my OW certification from PADI last weekend. On Saturday and Sunday I had two dives each day. I'd had trouble equalizing in my pool session, but my instructor said it was because I wasn't blowing hard enough against my pinched nostrils. During my first OW dive I had trouble again and my instructor wrote on his slate to blow harder. I did, I heard a squeak, and it worked. I didn't have any more problems equalizing after that. After the dives that day I had a little water in my ears and it cleared out almost all the way overnight. The next day it felt fine and I blew hard to equalize. It worked but after the dives I felt like I had quite a bit of water in my left ear. My instructor said it should clear up in a day or two.