New instructor having trouble finding work....Need Help!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DiverJim242

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I'm a new instructor having trouble finding work, and would like any input.

After 17 years as a professional mariner, I decided to finish out my working days doing something I love.....dive, and teach people to dive safely. But, I have been getting really discouraged in my quest to find a job.
As with everything I do, I went all out with my IDC, OWSI MSDT EFRI NITROX O2 instr, the works.
So, with that, and my past professional background, I believe I have good deal to offer any dive operation.
But after four months of sending out resume after resume, I have gotten little response.
Just for one example, I had one offer from a major liveaboard company, they wanted to pay me peanuts, and after looking the vessel over, which was a real junker (after 17 years working on ships, I know one when I see one), I had to say no.
I'm really getting the notion that this industry is not looking for professionals, just people thy can take advantage of, somebody please say it's not so.

A ScubaBoard Staff Message...

Moved to Seeking Employment.

You probably should have taken all the money you spent on training and invested it in a municipal bond, the return on investment would be better. :D