New Computer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bfisher

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
Hey guys,

I'm just about ready to upgrade to a new computer and dedicate it to editing photo/video. I ran across this and seek a few thoughts from the more experienced. Consider I'm fairly new to this, but am learning.

I need a new computer to do HD when I get to that point so here is what I found. At Circuit City they have an HP m8430n for $904. It looks pretty up to date, maybe more than I need right now, but who knows a couple months from now.

I'll most likely be adding an external hard drive and a 22" monitor.

Check out the computer and give me your thoughts. I'd post a link, but don't know how.

Barry

Well, you will probably get a wide range of opinions on this one.
A lot of people are fanatical about the computers they use, whether it's a Dell, HP, Mac, etc.

Although the specs on that computer look decent, I would try to go with a computer that is upgradeable, which means most basic desktops are off the list.

You might look at a basic workstation, which would allow you to add components and upgrade as much as you want to. Or for most of us, untill the money runs out, which doesnt take long.

You should be able to get a basic workstation for around the same cost.

Editing uses up a lot of resources and because things change so often, you don't want to end up with a paperweight in 6 months.

I recently upgraded to a new Dell T7400 workstation, for the same reasons.