Need suggestions for Oahu

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sober

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey folks,
I am a relative newbie (12 dives) and will be on Oahu in a few weeks. I am looking to get in a few dives, most likely of the shallow afternoon variety or shore dives. Any suggestions as to operators would be appreciated. Any local divers looking for a dive buddy would be great. Also, the big question-this time of year do I bring the 3mm or 7mm wetsuit?
Thanks in advance for any info.
Steve

I will put in a good recommendation for Gabe Scotti (scottitheduck here on SB) as I've had very good diving experiences with him.

As for the wetsuit thickness, that depends on how cold you get. I get cold easily so I would use the 7mm. I normally use a 3mm or even 5mm at the end of summer when the water is at its warmest.

I don't tend to dive with dive operators, but Gabe Scotti does come highly recommended on this board. As far as wetsuit thickness, I've rocked a 3 mm year-round and gutted it out in the winter months. By "gutted" I mean I was just a little chilly towards the end of my dives. I recently upgraded to a 4/3 which has suited me perfectly. A 7 mm seems like a bit of an overkill as some guys don't wear anything at all. I take that back. Some guys wear only board shorts.

I'll put in one more peg for Gabe, he runs a good op and if you need some extra attention he has your back.