need advice on older reg

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rambler

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to diving as I have been on one discovery scuba dive is the USVI (caught the bug) and now have my classes set up for next month. I have a 10 year old Scuba Pro MK 10 Reg and a G250 second stage setup and a Scubo Pro BC with a Airflow 2. It has a little corrosion here and there, mostly on hose fittings, and a few places that the brass shows through, It is worth rebuilding or shoud I buy new? I would rather not go crazy with a new purchase just to have something new.

rambler:
I'm new to diving as I have been on one discovery scuba dive is the USVI (caught the bug) and now have my classes set up for next month. I have a 10 year old Scuba Pro MK 10 Reg and a G250 second stage setup and a Scubo Pro BC with a Airflow 2. It has a little corrosion here and there, mostly on hose fittings, and a few places that the brass shows through, It is worth rebuilding or shoud I buy new? I would rather not go crazy with a new purchase just to have something new.

Take it for a service / assessment, should be fine to start you off.

A Mk 10 G250 is an excellent reg that will take you as far as you want to go in diving. Parts are still available and it breathes as well as anything produced to date and better than at least 3/4ths of the new stuff sold today.

Have the BC and Air 2 checked. They should get you by long enough for you to decide what you want to replace them.

rambler: