NAUI Master Scuba Diver: what exactly is it

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Coldwater_Canuck

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Out of curiosity I started looking at the NAUI Master Scuba diver program, after seeing it mentioned on here. Now I have no background with NAUI so have only been pounded by PADI's promotional items about their "Master Scuba Diver" which is really different.

I guess there's 3 main questions I have.

1.)
The course looks to me somewhat like an Advanced Open Water course in that it's a bunch of specialties. Now with AOW (at least for PADI) the relation between it and specialty courses is fairly obvious: the "adventure dive" is supposed to be the first dive of the specialty.

So my question is, how does Master Diver fit in with specialty courses? Is it supposed to be taken after a number of specialties, be taken in place of specialties (teach same material), or be taken before specialties? For example, how does the navigation portion match up with a navigation specialty? Does the deep dive also give you the 130 foot limit like the deep diver course, etc?

2.) Who is this geared towards? Is it generally for people with 100s of dives or is it more just something to do after AOW?

3.) Surprisingly, it doesn't seem to require a Rescue course as a pre-req, and while I see there is a rescue dive included, it would make NAUI Master Scuba the only MSD cert not to require a dedicated rescue class. Is there a reason for this?

Thanks in advance!