More on HP vs. LP

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

k-valve

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Just finished reading the responses on the HP or LP thread. I'm sort of in the same boat. I am just getting into technical diving and would like to purchase my own steel tanks for doubles. I'm not concerned with the weight or size of the tanks as I am with the capacity and whether they are compatible with higher percentage O2 gas mixes. That said, what would be the advantages of having either HP or LP doubles (probably looking at 100 cuft)? Thanks!!

k-valve:
Just finished reading the responses on the HP or LP thread. I'm sort of in the same boat. I am just getting into technical diving and would like to purchase my own steel tanks for doubles. I'm not concerned with the weight or size of the tanks as I am with the capacity and whether they are compatible with higher percentage O2 gas mixes. That said, what would be the advantages of having either HP or LP doubles (probably looking at 100 cuft)? Thanks!!

All cylinders, properly cleaned, are suitable for partial pressure mixing with 02.

Size and buoyancy characteristics are different, and at least if my experience is any indicator, it's good idea to borrow and dive different sets of doubles to see what is comfortable and trims out easily for you, before you spend a lot of money on tanks.