MbSub X1-VB (3 C cell) Quickie Review/1st Impressions!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubafanatic

Contributor
Reaction score
OK kids, my 2 brand new X1-VB (3 C cell) hand held back up lights arrived Wed 2/17 and while I haven't dove them yet, I'll go ahead and share my preliminary impressions. First, some disclaimers:

1) I'm not an optics/lighting expert, I'm not an engineer either, and I don't play one on T.V.

2) My somewhat underwater light experience is limited to: UK HID Light Cannons / assorted smaller UK halogen back up lights and one 4 C cell LED UK light/ an older Diverite 10W HID 'can' light / a really old halogen Diverite 50W 'can' light / a few older halogen and a few newer Halcyon 3-C cell LED 'Scout' back up lights/ Oxycheq Raider I and III....plus, of course, I've been exposed to/seen in use numerous other recreational level and tech level lights in use by other divers.

3) While I've done a little wreck diving and a little cave diving, I'm really mostly an advanced recreational diver interested in tropical-ish fishies/reefs/locations, hence I'm NOT PRIMARILY interested in pure light 'horsepower', I'm looking for a well balanced/well designed light in addition to 'horsepower'.

OK, here's are just some initial thoughts:

the X1-VB looks/feels like a high quality item, fits my hand well, feels solid...and the black anodized aluminum construction looks very 'techie'/sporty, not like so many brightly colored plastic cheezy recreational lights.