Mares X/Pure Vision

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

nomie

Reaction score
Hi :) I'm relatively new to scuba diving -> I'm currently putting together my gear after hiring gear up to now.

I read some positive comments about the Mares masks on this forum and they seem to also fit my face well. I really like the Mares Pure vision because of the unobstructed view in the middle of the mask.

But after reading the specs on the Mares site I feel less sure about which one to choose. The pure vision seems to have almost double the internal volume of the X-vision? Is that just because there is no frame piece over the nose taking up volume or are the lenses further away from the eyes? (more restricted viewing angle?)
They also don't mention the 'angled' lenses as with the X-vision (I was told angling the lenses towards the forehead improves vision when horizontal under water).

So I guess my question is which is the better mask? I saw a few people who has both masks on the forum and would appreciate some feedback on practical experience with them.

I have both masks.
I prefer the regular X Vision hands down.

They are identical in the angled glass, and shape. The difference is the glass above the nose vs separate lenses.
I use my Pure Vision for snorkelling and as a back up.

I also prefer a black skirt, and that is not available with the pure vision.

Hope this helps.

Divedoggie:
I also prefer a black skirt, and that is not available with the pure vision.