Looking to buy a camera.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ItsMandy227

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the diving thing and I'm very interested in purchasing a pretty inexpensive camera. Does anyone have any recommendations? Is digital better than regular film? If I get a digital camera can I use it on land as well and will the pictures be just as good? As I said this is all new to me so any advice will be greatly appreciated.

You probably should search the threads here first as this question is asked almost daily.
It's not a matter of digital being better than film. It's more about what you expect.
Both film and digital can be used on land and underwater.
There are far too many cameras to suggest just one.
You can get an underwater camera that is already waterproof or you can get a camera and a seperate housing for it.
Take your time and read throught the posts. It is somewhat frustrating but there is no easy answer. Determine how much money you want to spend.
These type posts often start a war between digital versus film and I don't want to go there. My two cents worth is to get a digital camera as it is easier to learn on since you can see the results immediately underwater and make adjustments accordingly for the next photo.
The amount of time you get to dive determines the amount of experience you will get with a camera. It takes time.