Little help needed here Opinions? C5050/ C5000/C750

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Tearless Tom

Reaction score
I am new to diving but not new to photography. Now I really have the bug for both.

I’ve been shooting for nearly 30 years. I am a part time pro on land. Wow didn’t realize how old I’ve gotten!

I presently use a Fuji FinePix S-1, Nikon N90S, and Mamiya 645. Personally I would love to get a housing for either the N90S or S-1 but I am looking for a smaller digital that we (girlfriend that gave me the bug) and I can take on our vacations and excursions with less bulk and weight not to mention I shudder at the thought of loosing either of those cameras.

We want something that will be very versatile on land and also under the seas.

I am trying to narrow down the search.

I have done quite a bit of research and am leaning towards the Olympus C5050 which seems to be highly recommended here. But I was also wondering about the C750. How good is that lens? Also the C5000.

Any guidance or experience with the 750 or 5000 out there would be greatly appreciated.

There is a $200. Difference between the C-5000, and C5050 and $100 between the C750 and C5050.

The difference or additional expenses of the housing for the C750 / C5000 and the XD Cards and priortized battery would more than make up the difference.

Also Do they make a housing for the C5000?

Thanks for any help!!!

Thomas

Well...after talking with a couple of big camera bugs on here about a similar question