Lets tell the less experienced what our OWC was like..... ( if you remember)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Katie K

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island,BC, Canada
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi.

Im Katie, I have been diving for 3 years now. I fell in love with diving after my BF made me try it. I was scared of diving because i thought I was going to drown.... I remember panicking and standing up the first time I flooded my mask. I keep picking the hole mask off my face and blowing and It just wouldn't clear for me. I sort of remember my first OWD, The vis was good and all I could think about was how cool the big orange blobs were (sunflower sea stars), and that The coolest thing ever weer the cool white slugs. After the First Ow dive the instructor told us that our buoyancy was good and that he wanted us to concentrate on it for the next dive. Feeling confident and probably a little overwhelmed we started the second dive (almost my last dive ever) Half way through I noticed two other divers I was a little excited and waved and watched them. I also noticed that my fin strap had slipped of my heal so I sat up and without thinking put it on. Now I thought I was fine because I could still see the other diver just fine, WRONG...... I was at the surface and my instructor 30 feet below. I remember like it was yesterday he was looking up at me, and put a hand on is head and shook it :depressed:. The hole establish buoyancy thin out the window....... eeeeee