Learning the hard way...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dirty-Dog

Frequently Censored
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
As I have mentioned in other posts, my wife and I are total noobs. Our total dive experience to date is a resort course followed by OW dives, last year in Cancun. Dive #2 was, for me, a hard lesson.

The DM, Sue and I were drifting along a reef. Fabulous. Sadly, I let myself get distracted enough that I failed to pay close attention to my gauges. When I did look, I saw that I had gotten down to 250PSI. Ooops. I got their attention and we headed up. Controlled ascent, obviously, no reason to rush.

The problem came when we reached the surface. I inflated my BCD (jacket style) without noticing that during the dive, the cumberbun had worked it's way up. And when inflated, it did a lovely job of preventing my diaphragm from moving.

Being unable to breathe is scary. Very scary. My SPG still showed that I had air, but I thought maybe it was inaccurate. So I got Sue's alternate air. Still couldn't breathe. Finally occured to me to pop the velcro, which, of course, fix the problem immediately.

I think this entire episode was caused by my lack of experience.

What I did wrong: not paying close attention to my gauges and BCD fit.

What I did right: I didn't panic. I stayed calm enough (barely!) to sort out the problem and fix it.

Opinions?

Glad that everything turned out OK for you. Thanks for sharing your story. Lesson learned on watching your SPG, eh?