Kayak diving in the Keys?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

artistdiver

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Good Morning! I'm going to be spending a couple of days in the Keys in 2 weeks. I'm going to be staying in Marathon. I was wondering if anyone knows of any kayak dives in that area? I'm just getting into it, so I don't know very many spots to go. I have 25 dives logged and about 6 of those are yak dives. I live near Clearwater Beach and most of my dives have been in Venice, for shark teeth, but definitely want to do some diving in the Keys. I'm going to take a charter out, but would like to be able to do a kayak dive or two if possible as well. Any thoughts, suggestions, or tips would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

did you find any places to yak dive in the Keys on your latest trip? I too am looking for the same information. I have studied the charts and there are a couple of patch reefs that are closer in that one could hit from a kayak. the closest is a mile from shore, the other is only a few hundred yards off shore, but access is a real issue - 3 mile paddle to get there. you are pretty worn out after paddling out there and back. will in Sarasota

Hey there! No. I didn't end up doing any yak diving when I was down in the Keys. I just ended up going out w/ a dive shop. But, I am still looking to research it more, because I'd still like to take the yak out down there for some diving if I can. If you find any good info, please share. I'll do the same. Thanks!