Jacket inflate vs Back inflate

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

master00sniper

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I wasn't sure whether to put this here or under the equipment section. I figured here because I'm new to diving. The few dives that I have done with rental equipment have been with a jacket inflate BCD. A local craigslist ad has this Seaquest Black Daimond BCD on sale for 250, excellent condition, only 10 dives on it. I'm assuming this is a good deal? What are the differences I should expect with a back inflate vs a jacket inflate?

I would recommend trying a few via rentals etc prior to purchasing a piece of equipment just after starting diving. This is one of the really disputed issues kinda like the Dems and the Gop on the news radio. Each type of buoyancy device has it's plusses and minuses. I'm sure that will be disputed here soon as well. I won't even make a recommendation as to my opinion because I'm not the one who will be diving with it. Sorry if this post is of little value. I do believe there are a lot of different BC combinations that work really well.

I can't really say, as I dont own one, but that is a great price on a Black Diamond. If you dont like it, sell it for 250 and you wont be out anything, but at least you will then know what to look for if it doest work out.

Considering that you can get a new one for twice as much from leisurepro.com I would say this is a good deal.