IP Immediately after service.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gcarter

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
My Apeks XTX40/DS4 and my son's HOG D1 cold set have just been serviced.

Today I attached them to a tank to check the IP. Since I just bought the gauge and this is my first time using it, I am not quite sure how to analyze the result.

The tank has 3100 PSI.

Apeks: Initial IP on pressurization 140. Purge cycle has an initial return to 135. After several cycles, left if for 10 minutes and it had crept to 145. Cycled again ~ 20 times, initial return to 135. 1 hour later, creep topped at 140.

HOG: Initial IP on pressurization 150. Purge cycle has an initial return to 135. After several cycles, left if for 5 minutes and it had crept to 140. Cycled again ~ 20 times, initial return to 135. 15 minutes later, creep topped at 140.

Is this amount of creep normal for newly serviced regs? Should this go away with some more cycling as the seats settle in?

I always thought the standard for a new seat was no creep. Cycling a couple times after initial pressurization is good. While I accept 5psi of creep on a used seat, I expect a new seat to lock up solid if it has been broken in properly. You might try cycling it 20 or 30 times and see if that produces solid lockup results.

First, I am not a certified tech but I do service my own regs (Apeks).