Incident During OW Training- What do you do?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

battles2a5

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi all. Well I'm new to this board and I am also new to diving. After a discover scuba 2-tank dive in Costa Rica, I decided to take a 2 week dive trip and get my OW and AOW. I'm up to about 21 dives now and have really taken a liking to the sport.

An incident that occured during my training has been bothering me. This happened during OW dive #3 of my OW training. We were in about 40 ft of water with pretty heavy surge that made visibility on the bottom pretty poor. We were kneeling on the bottom doing BC drills when the following incident occurred:

- I was doing a BC drill were you roll out of the BC, re-buckle the shoulder strap, then pull the BC back over your head and buckle everything back together.
- As soon as I rolled out of it I took my reg out so I could un-twist my air hose (as was instructed). When I put the reg back in my mouth, I pulled for air and got a mouth full of water. I coughed, tried again, and got the same result. As I mention above the bottom visibility was bad, and my BC apart, so I had trouble finding my octo.
- I ended up giving the "no air" signal to my instructor and swimming to him to get air.
- We reassembled my kit and once I had it back on, I was able to get air from my octo and we did a controlled ascent.