i need suggestions for a Semidry wetsuit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ryanski

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am trying to get into more diving in Western New York instead of just vacation diving. i have been looking at a couple Semidry wetsuits on Leisure pro. 2 hendersons and a bare all 8/7 semidry. I have little experience with different suit types. I bought a 3mil Neosport hyperstretch when i got certified and haven't used anything else besides a rental shorty over my 3 mil for cavern diving.
Henderson Thermoprene Pro Hooded Semi-Dry Jumpsuit
Henderson Thermoprene 8/7mm Semi-Dry, Closeout
Bare 8/7mm Velocity Semi-Dry Hooded Full Suit
Any suggestions on which to get. Anybody have experience with any of these? I looked through old posts and did not find much help there.

A couple of points

1. Using a 7mm suit compared to a 3mm suit is very different in terms of flexibility (and lead needed)
2. Try before you buy - I don't advise buying wetsuits / drysuits online, get it wrong and it can get complicated

Have you considered a drysuit?

I do know about the flexibility and lead needed differences. I just would like to extend my diving season other than just july august locally. i haven't really considered a drysuit because of the price point. I am going to reach out to local stores this week and see what brands each carries to try these on if at all possible. If not Leisure pro has a good return policy on items that don't fit.