How to know if your regulators have been serviced properly?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

phazza79

New
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi All,

This is my first post and I am relatively new to diving again (it's been a long time). So go easy on me :).

My fiance (who just recently got certified) and I (was certified a long time ago with NAUI up to OW2 / Advanced) just got back into scuba diving and would like to complete more dives and learn a lot more about the wonderful sport.

We have our own gear and are in the process of getting it all serviced.

The question I have is how do you know if your regulators have been properly serviced?

The reason I am asking is because I just got two sets of regs back from a local dive shop, and when I opened the purge cover on one of the sets it looked like this:

http://gdurl.com/PmOA

(not sure how to attach an image. Here is a url).

Firstly, yeah I know that the sand being there is my fault (I have been reading a lot about regulator maintenance and just learned how to take the purge cover off for cleaning).

But do you think that this is a sign that the regs have not even been serviced? I may be being paranoid here but I have a feeling that the guy did not service the regs and just tested them and charged me for a service. He charged me $350+ to service each set. I don't mind paying if the job is done.

What are your thoughts?

Thank you for any help in advance.

I would be unimpressed and would taking them back, showing them and asking what's up?