How do I know if the suit fits?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubagirl69

Reaction score
I am new to diving, and have tried on many suits. I have been told the suit needs to fit tightly. I am thin and have a big chest. I am in a suit now that fits good except it is choking me at the neck and wrists, and after 15 minutes in it I took it off and it left seam marks up my legs and arms. If I go to the next size up, it will bag in the hip and back area, and be to long in the arms and legs.
This new suit is a size 4 (I wear a 0-2).

I appreciate all advice from experienced divers!:D Thanks!

Try the companies that custom make suits. It's not good if it's too tight around your neck. Look on Yahoo or Google.There are lots of them. Off the shelf suits don't really fit me either.

Yeah sounds like you might need to go custom. Have you tried any of the hyperstretch suits like BARE or Henderson? They're a pretty good fit for the real "average" diver.

It is the coolest suit I have ever seen, it is an "Exceed" suit. It is beautiful suit. I am keeping it. I will get a custom also. Just really want to know if the average diver dive in a "tight" suit, one that does not bag.

diveman7683:
Yeah sounds like you might need to go custom. Have you tried any of the hyperstretch suits like BARE or Henderson? They're a pretty good fit for the real "average" diver.

Welcome to Scubaboard.

Comfort is the real issue. A suit needs to:
1: Keep the diver warm
2. Fit well enough to not only do the above, but also not restrict movement.