How do I choose my tank? HP vs. LP 80-130 cuft??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RaginCajun

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hey folks,

Yeah I'm a newbie, so what better than to learn from my more experienced peers....so here goes my current dilema:

How do I choose my tank?

So far I see the differences as:

Steel vs. Aluminum---(different buoyancy characteristics)
HP vs. LP---3000 psi vs 3442

So I'm a new diver ok, but I'm buying gear and want to purchase something now that I'll use for many years. Oh and I have a Nitrox class in a few days, so I plan to dive Nitrox too. Right now I like the HP and higher capacity tanks, from purely a volume/time of air perspective (read safety). But should I save a few bucks and go for a pony bottle for safety? So many questions...

I should also mention that yes I'm a newbie, I'll probably dive the La/Tx coast and perhaps other GOM destinations then perhaps some really nice trips to the carribbean etc...so warm water diving, seawater mostly, but some lakes, lagoons etc, no cave diving!! (not going through the training..)

Granted there are certainly cost differences between the two, buoyancy characteristics cost and weight benefits/consequences.

SO I just wanted it to throw it out there:

What do you dive with and what would you recommend for a new diver?

Sincere thanks!!