How dangerous is it to dive with a grossly oversized drysuit?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fuzzybabybunny

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm *really* hoping that my weekend of diving isn't shot to hell.

Ordered a used Whites Fusion Tech from Dive Right in Scuba - SM/MD. Says right on the receipt. Had the P Valve installed. Paid for 2 day shipping to make sure it got here before Thanksgiving.

Get my suit today, I'm beyond excited. I put on the suit and even though this is my first time wearing a dry suit, I'm wondering why it's so big...

I take it off, and notice that it's an XXL/XXXL.

I was planning on diving this for all 4 days of Thanksgiving weekend. I just can't dive anymore in my wetsuit because it's just too cold and utterly miserable. And now I think my long weekend of diving is completely shot because I received the wrong size wetsuit.

You really want your drysuit to fit, particularly the length. Having the legs too long, can lead to the bubble migrating to the foot area and staying there. That or it will be much more difficult to get the bubble to move out of the foot area. Proper fit is essential.

-Mitch

In my opinion, I'd avoid diving in something that was that much too big.