Help! What's the difference between high end and low end wetsuit? How to choose them?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

magic22cn

New
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am a newbie for diving and just begin to pick my gears. Now I have scubapro jet fin and tusa iq900. Wetsuit is my next target.

I was confused by so many wetsuits in the store and don't know what's the difference between them except price.

The sales told me actually only brand differ between them and nothing else. Is that correct? Should I just pick one base on the color I like?

Thanks a lot for your kind help!:dork2:BTW: mostly I dive in the warm water. so 3mm-5mm are both ok for me.

Quality of neoprene, construction (quality of stitching/glueing) and zipper quality can vary greatly between suit manufacturers. Fit is almost everything. Find one that fits and then search for reviews. Henderson and Bare have a pretty good reputation for their wetsuits. Beware of no brand suits as often the quality of neoprene is low. Good luck.

I agree, Bare, Pinnacle and Henderson are solid brands. Also anything that is a recognizable dive gear breand like ScubaPro, Aqualung etc. will be good stuff.

Decide on a style and thickness and then go shopping for fit.

Lots more here.

Pete

best to get both ends so one half of your body doesnt get cold!

@buddhasummer @spectrum Thank you guys so much!

I gonna google more about quality of neoprene! Thanks!