Help a beginner

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hi all,

Can anybody help an absolute beginner to both land or u/w photography. I am only interested in u/w stuff:-

I dont know if i should have digital or film.

Have the chance of a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-P5 and Marine Pack MPK-P5 but no strobe.

or a Motor Marine II with YS 50TTL strobe and mounting bracket with lens caddy to hold lenses underwater. Also 20mm wide angle lens and 3X macro lens.

I have searched the net for days now & still have no idea what to do.

Regards
Swampguinnie

IMHO you should have both.

I use the Sony P10 underwater, because of its size, digital format, and price of equipment. (My 1st u/w camera)

My dive buddy has the MMII w/ 60 strobe, it takes far better pictures, but is a lot of equipment to tote, and equipment and developing is $$$.

On land I've never taken better pictures than with my Nikon w/ nikkor 50mm lens. To get a housing and strobe for it would be too much $$$ for me.

Eventually I'm sure I'll want some better equipment that provides higher quality pictures..

So you really need to ask yourself what quality, price, and size tolerance you have.

I personally love my digital camera (Olympus 5050 and PT-015), but I have never tried a submersible film camera (other than the disposables). What I love about the digital cameras is that I can see the picture immediately and make adjustments.

astrl