Getting some gear! BCD, reg and computer.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jimmy P

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Howdy!
I finished my DMT in February, and am starting my IDC in Sept/Oct so it is time to buy equipment. I've only ever used shop gear, apart from my fins and mask, so I really have no idea when it comes to gear. I've looked around a bit, and at scubatoys.com I found the following gear:

BCD:
Mares Sport AT or the Mares Origin Sport. I have no experience with, or really even knowledge of, air trim. Also I do want a BCD with decent pockets as I'll be bringing a bit of stuff down on most dives.
Reg:
Aeris A1 Package. Aeris A1 reg, Mares Brigade Viper Octo, Mares Mission 2 gauge, and LPI, I guess. I like this gauge as well cause it's in bar!
Computer:
Aeris XR1. I have read good things about this computer, and it is cheap.

I will probably add in some other things like a knife, snorkel, and other minor items.
I'm going to be teaching, so I need fairly durable stuff but at the same rate, you might notice all these items are rather cheap.. another of my criteria :)
At a total cost of $8-900 including shipping I reckon this is a steal even with import taxes.

Please share your opinions and other recommendations if you have them. I like Mares, they are cheap and reputable, and can be serviced all over the world I believe.
Peace,
Jimmy

I might get slammed for this and Jimmy P don't take this as an attack or anything but...