For Women: My stupid question of the day . . .

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BettyRubble

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am new to diving and have a few 'stupid questions of the day'.

1. Suggestions on how best to handle the 'weight' of diving - gearing up is much heavier then I anticipated. I have a bad back but am fiercely independent, so I am looking for hints on how to carry my own tanks, plus how to manage gearing up and finally getting up the ladder or dingy. I'm a whopping 5'2. I did fine in class but recovery took a few days!

2. What are the best kinds of suits or 'cloths' to wear under wet suits? I typically where 2 piece suits as I have a short torso and 1 pieces are not comfortable. Yet, I know diving is predominately male and I don't want to be the chick flashing everyone while gearing up etc. Anything I should avoid? I tried 'swim trunk shorts' with a full coverage top but the shorts were not comfortable in the suit.

3. Thinking back to your early diving days, was there anything as a woman you had to change to either dive safely or 'be one of the boys?" I can only imagine what some of the old timers think of female divers to begin with, but newbie female divers must have a special place in their hearts! :wink: Any pitfalls I can avoid?

Thanks for your help. I know we newbies are annoying as heck! :)

Hi Betty, Welcome to the board and to diving. It is a great time and I hope you love it as much as the rest of us do.

To answer your questions