Florida Keys in March?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Nardulli

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi All,
I'm a newbie - just finished my testing and confined water dives. I was planning on Cozumel mid march for a vacation and for my Open Water dives, but that is starting to Look expensive beyond what I had planned.

Any thoughts on diving in the Keys? Good choice for OW cert dives?

Jim

Two excellent Florida Key choices would be Key Largo which is famous for the marine park, reefs and the abundent variety of fishlife. Another choice would be to continue driving South 15 minutes to Islamorada. Last months Rodale Scuba Divng magazine's readers rated Islamorada as North America's best dive location.
Both Largo and Islamorada have numerous reefs in the 30 ft depth range. Great for beginners.
Varity, large qty of fish, turtles, nurse sharks, southern rays and eels are easily seen on most dives.
I can point you to hotels in the $50-$70/night range. Fly into Ft. Lauderdale or Miami.
Night life is decent during the summer. In March it will be a little tame unless your trip is during the Spring break.
Depending on the dive shop you book with, you will most likely accomplish your checkout dives one on one with an instructor. You will get all the attention and training you want.

Expect water temps of about 70 to 78 in March. (but more towards the lower 70's.) You can dive that with a 3mm but some might get a little chilled and want a 5mm.

just FYI.