FIRST TRY REVIEW: HalcyonSSBP / 36# Pioneer Wing / ACB

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

noshow

Contributor
Reaction score
I am a rookie diver here in Vancouver, BC with a grand total of 22 dives under my belt. All of these dives have been with rental regs, suits and rental jacket style BCD's. Last couple weeks I have begun to purchase my own personal gear and 2 Saturdays ago dove my Apeks ATX200 reg for the first time. This was with the shops renal Mares Jacket style BCD because I haven't made up my mind on the BC I want. I didn't like the BC at all comfort wise. (loved my new reg)

Saturday and Sunday I was given the opportunity to demo a HalcyonSSBP / 36# Pioneer Wing / ACB setup for dives numbered 23-26. Brand new. I was EXTREMELY fortunate to have 2 experienced DIR divers with me to help me configure my gear on the surface; get the straps fit, crotch strap, tank in with no STA, etc, etc. I put the weight in the ACB pockets and off we went for an 80' wall dive. Over the next two days I did three more dives with these guys including a 60' wall, 35 foot basic expolore, and 50' explore. Lots of different dives in different environments including a screaming strong current for one.