First regulator suggestions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Cain247

New
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I'm new to buying my own gear and I'm looking to purchase my first regulator. I currently have no idea what to look for or where to start. I will be using it for general open water diving nothing technical. Any help on where to start and what to look for would be greatly appreciated. I would like to spend somewhere in the range of 300 to 500 dollars but this is flexible. Thanks =)

Okay, here comes the questions to ask yourself;
What kind of diving will I be doing? In the future?
can I, will I, ever want to service them myself?
does the shop I use service them?
is there a lifetime parts option?
will I travel with them?

Some general regulator recommendations,
Apeks
HOG
Diverite

These are bulletproof, upgradable, can do almost any kind of diving and I've used all of them. I've used many more but these are my recommendations.