First gear purchase...need advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RamblinManta

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey , guys. Newbie here. Certified last May and have 12 dives so far. Taking the AOW class right now. Looking to make my first purchase of gear and needed advice.

My local dive shop has a used package that includes a Mares Dragon BCD w/MRS weight pockets and built-in Octo, a Mares Abyss S2 reg, and ScubaPro 2 gauge for $650.

I was looking on Leisure Pro and saw the Mares #1 package for $525 that includes a Genesis console, Mares Prestige Octo, Mares Rover Reg, and Mares Rover PRO BCD.

Would you recommend going for the new set up that's cheaper or the better gear that's used? The used gear has about 25 dives in fresh and salt water on it.

I have to agree with Netdoc on this one. You never know how something used was actually treated and cared for and I second the classifieds here on SB... Just rember used is always buyer beware.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2

Thanks, guys. I may just try to see if my LDS can match or at least come close to the Leisure Pro price on the Mares package.

Check with www.Scubatoys.com also. And call them...sometimes they can do better than advertised prices.

You might also want to google Mares AirTrim and see if you still want one. IMO it adds more complexity for relatively little benefit.