First Drysuit.. advice needed

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jasonmh

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi all,
I have started shopping for a drysuit, and since I am new to DIR and new to drysuits, I need some help.
I was thinking of getting a USIA Aqua Pro Plus http://www.usia.com/consumer/?p=2
and I wanted to make sure that there wasn't anything about it that was anti-dir?
From what I understand it is a shell suit, self-donning (with zipper in front), with a left shoulder exhaust.
Are there other things that I should be looking for that would or would not make this dir-compatible?
Is the exhaust on the left shoulder the preferred placement?
They also offer the choice of latex or neoprene seals, is there any reason to pick one over the other?
Thanks for any advice. I can only afford to buy one suit, and I want to make sure that I don't get one that turns out to be non-dir for some reason.
Thanks.

USIA tend to be baggy....I tried it once at the DEMA show. that's bad. true DIR suit is a custom suit. DUI 350 seems to be the choice. I tried 3 suits before finally buying a TLS350 and biting my elbows that I didn't do it the first time around. However, you need to get a person who knows how to do the measurements right or you will end up being miserable regardless of which suit you get.

Jasonmh:
Hi all,
I have started shopping for a drysuit, and since I am new to DIR and new to drysuits, I need some help.