electric ray

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jim Ernst

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
i have a picture of what i THINK is an electric ray in my gallery, i think i was once again to close to the subject, can this picture be fixed and or any suggestions or comments on what i did wrong to make it seem ,bright? camera is a sea life dc310 pro kit and i am still learning to use it as i was using a CHEAP $50 35mm

Thornback.jpg

Nope, it's a thornback ray (Platyrhinoides triseriata).

All the back scatter is due to having the strobe/flash too near the camera's lens. Move the strobe as far from the camera as possible and then light the subject with the edge of the light cone - don't point the strobe at the subject.

The image could be photoshopped, but it would take a lot of work.

Did you notice the moon snail egg case beside the ray?

I agree, thornback ray.

Here is a picture of a Pacific Electric Ray that I took off Catalina (I think). Flash didn't fire so it is a little green.

jlyle:
Nope, it's a thornback ray (Platyrhinoides triseriata).

All the back scatter is due to having the strobe/flash too near the camera's lens. Move the strobe as far from the camera as possible and then light the subject with the edge of the light cone - don't point the strobe at the subject.

The image could be photoshopped, but it would take a lot of work.

Did you notice the moon snail egg case beside the ray?