DUI exhaust valve leaking or ....?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bertschb

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I have a brand new DUI CLX 50/50 suit. I dove it last weekend and had quite a bit of water leak around the exhaust valve. The shoulder and sleeve of my undergarment were pretty wet. I'm new to diving so I wasn't sure exactly what happened. I do know I was underweighted so I pressed the center of the exhaust valve a few times to manually vent the suit.

Before calling DUI, the LDS owner removed the valve and fiddled around with it before re-installing it with some silicone. I'm going on a boat dive this weekend and now I'm worried about the valve leaking or not working correctly. The LDS was kind of rough while working with the valve.

My LDS called DUI and the DUI rep said if you vent the suit manually (press the center button) water can come back in through the valve. Is that true? Also, are these valves pretty rugged? The LDS owner had great difficulty re-installing the cap on the inside of the vlave and spent 15 minutes smashing the two halves of the valve together before he unscrewed it a bit and tried again (which worked).

Thanks for your help

If it's a low profile apeks valve (it probably is) they pretty much all leak, if they are fully open. I know a lot of people including myself who've had this issue.