Diving deeper than 30 metres

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jan Kruger

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I have been diving since 2000 and have always been a bit of a nervous but optimistic diver. Lately i have
developed a problem in the sense that i get panick attacks when i dive deeper than 30 metres. Is there any explanation for this
or is it simply a case of my mind telling me that it is a deep dive.We dive at least twice per month at either an inland quarry or at
the coast at Sodwana bay.

If routine dives have you nervous then it sounds like you may be getting ahead of yourself or maybe even have some training gaps to fill. Diving past 30 meters is not trivial.

Optimism is nice but training, experience, the right gear and buddy(s) are what you need at 90+ feet. Lacking those some level of distress is appropriate. It could be that you have recognized the magnitude of the dives you are making.

Can you tell us more about the sites, your deep dive training, gear and buddy(s)? For instance are you diving with a pony bottle, do you do OOA drills and so forth?

A persons susceptibility to narcosis varies and you may be running into that. When is doubt, get out.

BTW, Try adding some detail to your profile, that will let everyone be more helpful.

Pete

It's a common symptom of nitrogen narcosis. Expecially given your depth I'd suspect this.

R..