Diving Configuration

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rstofer

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I have a DA AquaMaster and the Phoenix conversion is on order. I am also considering a 2d AquaMaster with no conversion and only modern diaphragms and such. Almost strictly stock!

I also purchased a brand-new-in-the-box US Divers backplate with harness - pretty cool.

But now I could use some information on actually diving the DH system.

First, let's assume I am going to forgo the horsecollar BC and depend on a surface float of some kind.

Second, let's assume we're talking Lover's Pt at Monterey Ca: maybe 50 deg F and perhaps 30' deep using an AquaLung SolaFX one-piece 7/8 mm wetsuit. Clearly I will lose buoyancy at depth.

Third, let's select a tank of modest capacity. Certainly 100 cf or less. I don't necessarily care that the tank work with the backplate. I am certainly willing to buy the new vintage harness as long as the tank bands will fit the selected tank. There aren't a lot of 6.9" diameter tanks available new and buying an old steel 72 via eBay isn't something I am inclined to do. "Used tank - last hydro in 1968" is not going to be my first choice. An aluminum 50 is 6.9" but that might be on the low end for capacity. Suggestions for a tank?

Fourth, I have and am willing to use a J-valve. For the purposes of this project, an SPG is optional. I just want to walk in, swim around in the shallows and walk out.