Dive computer help please

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jonjenn

New
Reaction score
# of dives
Looking to invest in a cheap dive computer
i am new to the sport and just about to complete openwater course.
Any advice would be good for a first time user.
I am uk based so mainly cold water as it isn't warm over here.
Not going to be going every week as I work to bloody much

cheers for advice in advance

IMHO Suunto Zoop - does everything you need for OW / AOW / nitrox level diving (well, seems to for me & Mrs. B) and has user changeable battery.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

I would recommend a Mares Puck or possibly a VEO 100NX, you can get both for a good price for about $150 US, check on ebay.

Suunto Zoop, Mares Puck, Scubapro Aladin 2g and Hollis DG03 are all inexpensive computers that work great and handle nitrox as well. I've been using the Aladin Tec 2g (non Tec 2g has a couple extra features that mine doesn't have) for a couple years now and it's a wonderful computer. I'm about to upgrade and the only reason I am is for redundancy.

Agreed...Zoop or Puck.

Zoop or Puck

What you'll often find with these kinds of discussions is that people tend to recommend what they have and avoid recommending what they don't have. Therefore I'll avoid recommending a particular computer and just point out that the "A-brand" manufacturers all have computers in their product line and that at this particular point in time they are all perfectly good.