DIR Reg Question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Tekkie

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to DIR and I have been reading everything on the internet about it. I got certified about six months ago. After certification I heard about DIR diving and I have been hooked ever since. Later on (after I dive some more) I plan on taking technical and wreak diving cources, but I do not want to have to buy a new regulator before I start technical diving. So some money is burning a hole through my pocket and I want to get my first regulator. Here are my choices so far:

Scubapro- Mk25/G250HP
Apeks-DS4/ATX 50 or TX50

Are these good choices? If not what would be a better regulator for DIR/Technical diving.

The thing I don't want to do is blow $800.00 and then find out I have the wrong type for DIR diving.

One last thing what type of regulator do you use for Technical/DIR diving?

Thx.
Tekkie

:help:

DIR does not mean technical diving. DIR is about improving your diving skills across the board. The consensus seems to be that if you're interested in DIR, take the DIRF course ASAP.

But in any case, I think you can't go wrong with either of those regulator choices. As far as I know, the only stipulations on regulators for DIR are: must be able to be disassembled underwater, no upstream valves (jetsream), and the backup should be low performance to avoid freeflows.

For what it's worth, I'd go with the TX50. I use the TX40 and prefer it over the ATX because it has better bubble dispersion. I've never used any of the Scubapro regs.