DIR and Solo Diving, Incompatible?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

hockeyplay

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to diving in general and have logged a whopping 7 dives. I have no desire to reach deeper than 60 feet as my 2 dives to wrecks in 96' fsw were not nearly as interesting as my 30' reef dives.

With my disinterest in deep diving and shallow tastes, is there any reason for me to bother going DIR?

Assuming I do adopt the philosophy, is there room in DIR for solo divers? (I love photography and see a buddy more as a distraction than an asset)

( I am not looking to bust cajones, but rather to get a serious answer. Not having enough experience either way, I think it's best to know which way to go before I start down the road)

Thanks.

hockeyplay:
With my disinterest in deep diving and shallow tastes, is there any reason for me to bother going DIR?
DIR has nothing to do with depth, its a way to dive.
hockeyplay:
Assuming I do adopt the philosophy, is there room in DIR for solo divers? (I love photography and see a buddy more as a distraction than an asset)
No
hockeyplay:
Your Welcome

No reason to stop learning because you want to stay shallow

GDI:
No reason to stop learning because you want to stay shallow

I second that. I'd recommend the DIR-Fundamentals book (FWIW I'm not DIR).

Also, we saw a heck of a lot of great reef below 60' in the Caymans.