Did EVERYTHING wrong

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dnalevol

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
As I think about what I am about to write, I have to admit I am very embarrased. I did some very stupid things.

First, I am a newbie to diving. Just got certs in September. Went on a 10 day sailing/diving vacation to the BVI in December. Had never been on a dive except the pool/lake dives during certs. Since we had our own boat, my hubby and I decided we wanted to rent gear and dive whenever we wanted to without a dive master. Here is a summary of some of our dives, and the lessons I learned.

1. Diving the Wreck of the Rhone. Our boat was anchored fairly close to the dive site. So we decided to swim to it rather than dinghy over. Had no problems swimming to the dive site, had no problems on the dive. We did find ourselves at 80 feet at one point, which made us a tad nervous, but we closely watched our dive computers and were fine. Time to ascend. No problems. Start swimming back to our boat. Talk about a LONG swim!!! Plus we were swimming against a current. It took forever and we were exhausted when we finally got to the boat. Lesson learned: NEVER swim to dive site. Always dinghy as close as possible. Or make sure someone can come and pick you up when you are finished.