DCS Treatment and Obama-Care

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Akimbo

Just a diver
Staff member
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
I’m not a proponent of government involvement in much of anything, including health care. However, we are stuck with this now so do any of these new mandates include coverage for DCS treatment? Also, are there any mandates for coverage outside of the US?

Correct me if I am wrong, but isn’t hyperbaric treatment for DCS the “standard of care”?

[Edit] I doubt that DCS is specifically addressed, but perhaps it falls under provisions that make it hard to prohibit coverage uncommon maladies???

Last edited:
I can't imagine that the ACA will change the standard of care for any disease. It will effect Medicare reimbursement as CMS rolls out some more quality assurance measures by which to gauge a hospital's performance.