crazed chemoreceptors????

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

navy"medic"chic

Registered
Reaction score
As a underwater medicine student i have completed 4 table 62 oxygen recompression treatments. In the last hour of the treatment we as attendants go on oxygen for 1 hour to breath of the excess nitrogen. Soon after i put on the BIBs mask i get the unsurpressable urge to yawn every few minutes. Yes it usually is late at night, can i simply attribute this to oxygen induced tiredness (i don't feel tired) or........
Is this something to do with decreased levels of carbon dioxide, ph levels, with the chemoreceptors sending messages to the medulla to increase levels via a drive to yawn. No doubt i am way off and as i seem to be the only one with this problem it makes me look very bored, which must not impress the patient too much i am sure.

:hmmm:

Howdy navy"medic"chic:

I don't think anyone really knows why we yawn, but I beleive that the current thinking is that it is more related to "stretching" rather than CO2. Stretching the muscles (whether of the body or of the face as in a yawn) seems to help waken a sleepy brain.

HTH,

Bill

Dear medic chic:

During some of the time that I was at the Institute of Applied Physiology and Medicine in Seattle, Washington, I had the occasion to participate in many sessions of hyperbaric oxygen therapy. Of the couple hundred patients, I never heard one remark about yawning while breathing oxygen. It is not common.